It’s Peanut Butter Falcon and Doughnut Time!

The Peanut Butter Falcon came as a complete surprise to me – I hadn’t even seen the trailer but I knew that it involved wrestling, which was enough of a hook to agree to pre-book tickets for the Prince Charles Cinema (it’s one of those films that didn’t really make it to the multiplexes).

Starring Zack Gottsagen as a young man with Downs syndrome who dreams of being a professional wrestler, and bereaved fisherman Shia LaBeouf (for once not screaming at sentient muscle cars), it’s an odd-couple story of outcast runaways buddying up and growing respectively. Set in the Floridian swamps, the movie pushes credibility to its very schmaltziest edges, and yet still managed to resonate emotionally. I loved this film and would strongly recommend it to wrestling fans and movie fans and.. people with beating hearts alike.

After the movie, Ria and myself continued our doughnut quest – we had seen that Doughnut Time was celebrating its birthday, so we headed down to its High Holborn branch for a photoshoot on their swing and in their ball pool, as well as sample some delicious new flavours.

I chose ‘Stranger Rings 2.0’, a chocolate glaze topped with Oreo crumbs, Nutella and glitter – and I have to say, it was pretty damn amazing. Ria had a ‘Sia Later’ – a red velvet doughnut with butter cream frosting and freeze dried raspberries, that was “better than the violet one I had last time but still not as good as the cookie dough one”.

What is your favourite doughnut flavour? And have you visited Doughnut Time in High Holborn? x

Published by Goldy Loxx

Hey there - I am your friendly, neighbourhood trashbag pinup. I like to go on adventures - come with me now on a journey through time and space.

Leave a comment